Skip to content

Do you wonder what the kingdoms of nature are exactly or do you want to explain it to the little ones? To understand it simply, we can say that the kingdoms in which living beings are grouped are a taxonomic classification system of the life that inhabits our planet. This classification into kingdoms is based on common and general characteristics of the species. This is because the kingdom is a much broader taxonomic classification than families, genera or species, and that it includes a great diversity of organisms.

In nature, we classify 5 kingdoms: vegetable, animal, monera, protista, and fungi. This AgroCorrn article describes the kingdoms of nature with a simple explanation, images and video .

What are the kingdoms of nature – the 5

As a summary, we mention this list of the kingdoms of nature :

  1. Vegetable kingdom or Vegetalia kingdom or Plantae kingdom.
  2. Animal kingdom or Animalia kingdom.
  3. Fungi kingdom, mushroom kingdom or Fungi kingdom.
  4. Monera kingdom, Monera kingdom or Monera kingdom. This is sometimes divided into two: the Archea kingdom and the Bacteria kingdom, which is why it is said that there are 6 kingdoms of nature , instead of the five best known.
  5. Protista kingdom or Protista kingdom.

The Plant Kingdom or Plantae

To explain what the kingdoms of nature are and their characteristics , we will talk about each of them separately, both why they are classified like this, and what beings they are composed of and their main features.

The first kingdom that we detail is the Plantae or vegetable kingdom . This taxonomic group is made up of all the plants that inhabit our planet , such as pines, oaks, tulips, palms or bananas. Some of the most outstanding characteristics of the Plant kingdom are:

  • They are multicellular beings with eukaryotic cells, which are characterized by having chloroplasts and a rigid cell wall that delimits it with cellulose.
  • They synthesize their own food through the process of photosynthesis, using sunlight, water, and carbon dioxide.
  • They do not have the ability to move through the middle, although they can make small movements of their roots or their aerial part in search of sunlight.
  • Plant beings have sexual reproduction (by union of gametes) and asexual (without union of gametes, for example, with grafts or bulbs)
  • They need fixed habitats to thrive, which includes both land and water.

Plants are very important for the functioning of ecosystems, as they produce oxygen and nutrients for the food chain.

In this other AgroCorrn article you can discover more about the Plantae Kingdom: what it is, characteristics, classification and examples .

The animal kingdom or Animalia

The animal kingdom is one of the widest known, since they can be found anywhere in the world and of any size. It includes beings considered more inferior, such as invertebrates or small ones such as mites, even some more superior or vertebrates , such as humans, cats or dogs. Some of the main characteristics of the Animalia or animal kingdom are:

  • It comprises almost a million and a half species spread throughout the planet.
  • They are multicellular beings and have eukaryotic cells with mitochondria (to produce energy).
  • They can have different types of food: omnivores, carnivores, herbivores, detritivores, insectivores or parasites.
  • Animal species have the ability to move freely through their environment.
  • All animals have some kind of symmetry, with the sole exception of the sponge.
  • Higher animals possess sexual reproduction. Among the lower animals, some may have asexual reproduction, such as starfish.
  • Animals breathe oxygen and remove carbon dioxide.

Learn much more about this kingdom in this other post about the Animalia Kingdom: what it is, characteristics, classification and examples .

The kingdom fungi with a simple explanation

The Fungi kingdom is also known as the kingdom of fungi and yeast and some examples are known mushrooms such as the fly swatter, the devil’s cigar, the pine mushroom or the beer yeast. Among the main characteristics of the fungi kingdom are:

  • They are unicellular ( yeast ) or multicellular (some fungi and mushrooms) eukaryotic cells with a rigid cell wall, but unlike plants, it is made of chitin.
  • They live in all kinds of habitats, but especially the most humid and aquatic ones.
  • Like animals, they do not produce their own food and need organic matter made by other organisms.
  • They reproduce by spores, which are generated sexually or asexually.

You can expand this information here: Fungi Kingdom: what it is, characteristics, classification and examples .

The monera kingdom

The kingdom Monera, monera or monera is made up of prokaryotic unicellular organisms , which differ completely from eukaryotes. Examples of these organisms are methanogenic archaea, halobacteria, mycoplasmas, purple bacteria, or cyanobacteria. Some of the most notable characteristics of the Monera kingdom are:

  • Its cells do not have a nucleus or organelles. Some have a cell wall.
  • They can live individually or in groups.
  • They can live in all habitats. Even in the human body.
  • Its size is microscopic, with between 0.2 and 0.3 microns in diameter.
  • Its morphology is very varied, being able to be round, corkscrew, corkscrew, etc.

See more details about this kingdom in this other article about the Monera Kingdom: what it is, characteristics, classification and examples .

The protist kingdom explained in a simple way

To finish talking about the kingdoms of nature with a simple explanation , we can only mention the Protista or Protista kingdom .

It is not a very defined or differentiated group. In general, organisms are included that cannot be included in any of the four previous kingdoms. They are usually eukaryotic unicellular organisms, although there are also multicellular ones. Examples are Plasmodium falciparum ( causing malaria or malaria), Trypanosoma cruzi (causing Chagas disease), Plasmodium vivax , Trypanosoma brucei (causing sleeping sickness) or Leishmania donovani (causing leishmaniasis). Some of the most important characteristics of the Protista kingdom are:

  • They are mostly unicellular and do not have specialized tissues or almost no cell differentiation.
  • They can organize into colonies (but not tissues).
  • Many live in aquatic environments.
  • They can be parasites of people or animals.
  • They can have movement through them according to the structure they have, being able to move through flagella, by cilia or by pseudopods.

Here we leave you more information about the Protista Kingdom: what it is, characteristics, classification and examples . In addition, here below we leave you a video from our YouTube channel about the 5 kingdoms of nature and their characteristics .

+ posts

Hello, I am a blogger specialized in environmental, health and scientific dissemination issues in general. The best way to define myself as a blogger is by reading my texts, so I encourage you to do so. Above all, if you are interested in staying up to date and reflecting on these issues, both on a practical and informative level.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *